Haepungbuwongun Yun Taekyeong's Jaesil is a shrine house built by the father-in-law of King Sunjong of Joseon dynasty in 1906 when his daughter was proclaimed the crowned princess of Joseon and entered Changdeokgung Palace to later become Queen Sunjeong. Red pine trees salvaged from the demolition of Gyeongungung Palace were used to construct the house. It was originally located in Jegi-dong, Dongdaemun-gu, but was later restored and moved to its present location. The shrine of the house that was destroyed in 1960 was also restored.
Because the house is more of a shrine rather than residential living quarters, it has many unique features. For example, unlike other houses, it has the anchae (women’s quarters) located across from sarangbang (men’s quarters) with daecheong (living room) positioned between them.
28, Toegye-ro 34-gil, Jung-gu, Seoul[Google Map]
Chungmuro Station (Seoul Subway Line 3, 4), Exit 3 or 4.
Walk for approx. 85 m to Namsangol Hanok Village.
Haepungbuwongun Yun Taekyeong's Jaesil is located inside Namsangol Hanok Village.
infocenter: • 1330 Travel Hotline: +82-2-1330
(Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese)
• For more info: +82-2-3396-5843