Introduction

Sejong Museum exhibits folk art, wooden crafts, clothing, accessories, pottery, paintings and calligraphy collected for over 40 years by the couple who founded the present day Sejong University, Dr. Choo Young-ha and Dr. Choi Ok-ja.

This museum has its origins in the ‘Soodo Gallery’, which was built in Chungmuro, the campus’ original location, in 1959. Needing more space to house additional artifacts the museum moved to its current location, which first opened on May 5th, 1973.

The four-story concrete was built in the style of a Baekje-era tower was later extended on May 20th, 1977. After the university’s name was changed to Sejong University in 1979, the museum was also renamed the ‘Sejong Museum’. It showcases unique artifacts to both scholars and students from home and abroad to contribute to the research on Korea’s culture, arts, and archeology.

 

Address: 

209, Neungdong-ro, Gwangjin-gu, Seoul[Google Map]

 

 

Homepage: 

museum.sejong.ac.kr (Korean only)

 

 

How To Use

 

Admission / Participation Fees: 

Free

 

Structure Size: 

Structure Area 4,959m²

 

 

Transportation

 

[Subway]
Children’s Grand Park Station (Seoul Subway Line 7), Exit 6.

 

 

Additional Info

 

Program Information: 

{{infoname}}

 

Reservations: 

{{infoname}}

 

tel: +82-2-3408-3876, 3076, +82-2-3408-3114

zipcode: 05006

infocenterculture: • 1330 Travel Hotline: +82-2-1330
(Korean, English, Japanese, Chinese)
• For more info: +82-2-3408-3876, 3076
, +82-2-3408-3114

parkingculture: Available

restdateculture: Weekends, National Holidays, Temporarily closed day

usetimeculture: Mon-Fri 10:00-15:00

guest
Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments